Special Education

Special Education is an integral part of the public education system. It is specifically designed instruction to meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act emphasizes the student's participation in the general education curriculum and expands the Individualized Education Program team to include general education teachers. Under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act students who are eligible for special education have the right to a Free and Appropriate Public Education.

Mission Statement:
"To provide equitable access to academic achievement and the development of confidence, self-advocacy and independence so that each student, regardless of their diverse strengths and abilities, can access their post-secondary goals."

District Office Contacts

Stacy O'Farrell
Director
(831) 429-3410 x 201   
sofarrell@sccs.net
Nina Eklof
Administrative Secretary
(831) 429-3410 x 201   
neklof@sccs.net
Staci LaCagnin     
Program Specialist
(831) 429-3410 x 203   
slacagnin@sccs.net
Brad Ruth
Program Specialist
(831) 429-3410 x 209   
bruth@sccs.net
Sarah Krummel Program Specialist (831) 429-3410 x 213   
skrummel@sccs.net
Helen Stuart
IEP Compliance Coordinator
(831) 429-3410 x 205   
hstuart@sccs.net
Naima Leal
SpEd Instructional Coach      
(831) 429-3410 x 210
nleal@sccs.net 
Anna Brito
Account Technician
(831) 429-3410 x 202   
abrito@sccs.net  
Debby Molina
Def & Hard of Hearing Specialist
(831) 429-3410 x 207   
​dmolina@sccs.net
Julie Santana
Def & Hard of Hearing Specialist
(831) 429-3410 x 208   
​jsantana@sccs.net
John Roberts
Student Data Technician
(831) 429-3410 x 217   
jroberts@sccs.net

Special Education Record Request
Contact Jon Roberts via Phone: (831) 429-3410 x217 or FAX: (831) 429-3450

Special Education Work Ability & Transition Programs  
Contact Debbie Nargi-Brown via Phone: (831) 429-3476 or FAX: (831) 429-3494 

Copyright 2017 Santa Cruz City Schools