## SANTA CRUZ CITY SCHOOLS GREEN SCHOOLS COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA March 16, 2023 4:00 – 5:30 pm

## **ZOOM LINK HERE:**

https://sccs-net.zoom.us/j/81832515661?pwd=eTFlclJPT2g4VVNrb1BIdE1pN1h4QT09

Meeting ID: 818 3251 5661

Passcode: green

## Santa Cruz City Schools

Committee Charge: "to develop and recommend to the Board policies that meet State standards, lighten the District's environmental footprint and integrate environmental education and student participation in environmental initiatives using partnerships with environmental education and public and non-profit agencies."

- I. Welcome and Introductions (Jim Monreal)
- II. Minutes of 01/26/22 Meeting (Link to Minutes)
- III. Sustainability Update (Trevor Miller)
- IV. Food Services (Amy Hedrick-Farr)
- V. Environmental Studies Secondary Level (Derek Kendall)
- VI. Environmental Studies Elementary Level (Thien Hua)
- VII. High School Recycle Club (Melissa Schilling)
- VIII. Santa Cruz Museum of Natural History (Chris Soriano)
  - A. Update: Earth Stewards are just plugging away at projects around the county.
- IX. City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction (Leslie O'Malley and Janice Kelly)
- X. City of Santa Cruz Update (Tiffany Wise-West)
- XI. Youth for Climate Justice (Pauline Seales)
- XII. Green Schools Working Group (Amity Sandage)
- XIII. Future Meeting Dates 2022-23
  - A. 4/12/23 Board Meeting Annual Presentation
- XIV. Adjournment

## **Committee Members**

Keresha Durham, Ark Independent Studies Teacher Jim Monreal, Asst. Supt.

Kinsey Dickson, Executive Assistant for Business Services

Stu Branoff, Bay View Teacher

Tiffany Wise-West, City of Santa Cruz Climate Action Program

Pauline Seales, City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction

Leslie O'Malley, City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction

Cayley Soon, City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction

Melissa Schilling, Harbor High Climate Justice Club

Chris Soriano, Museum of Natural History

Amy Hedrick-Farr, Santa Cruz City Schools

Amity Sandage, Santa Cruz County Office of Education

Trevor Miller, SCCS Facility Services Director

Kyle Kelley, SCCS Trustee

John Owen, SCCS Board President

Christina Horvat, Santa Cruz County

Mary Ann LoBalbo, Santa Cruz County

Zeke Bean, Santa Cruz City

Maryna Sedoryk, Santa Cruz City

Thien Hua, Principal

Derek Kendall, Principal

Nicola Hall, Student Rep

Tamarah Minami, Student Rep

Veronica Zahela, Librarian at Santa Cruz High School