SANTA CRUZ CITY SCHOOLS

GREEN SCHOOLS COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA

October 20, 2022 4:00 – 5:30 pm

ZOOM LINK HERE:

https://sccs-net.zoom.us/j/81360076851?pwd=Y3JKYk5HTHBYdXI0Y0xmU0ttREVqZz09

Meeting ID: 813 6007 6851

Passcode: green

Santa Cruz City Schools

Committee Charge: "to develop and recommend to the Board policies that meet State standards, lighten the District's environmental footprint and integrate environmental education and student participation in environmental initiatives using partnerships with environmental education and public and non-profit agencies."

- I. Welcome and Introductions (Jim Monreal)
- II. Agenda
- III. Minutes of 05/05/22 Meeting (Link to Minutes)
- IV. Sustainability Update (Trevor Miller)
- V. Food Services (Amy Hedrick-Farr)
- VI. Environmental Studies Secondary Level (Derek Kendall)
- VII. Environmental Studies Elementary Level (Thien Hua)
- VIII. High School Recycle Club (Melissa Schilling)
 - A. Grant Application
- IX. Santa Cruz Museum of Natural History (Chris Soriano)
- X. City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction (Leslie O'Malley and Cayley Soon)
 - A. Mini Grant for K-12 Teachers
- XI. Youth for Climate Justice (Pauline Seales)
- XII. Green Schools Working Group (Amity Sandage)
- XIII. CSBA Green Schools Resolution
- XIV. Adjournment

Future Meeting Dates 2022-23

1/19/23 3/16/23 4/12/23

Committee Members

Dorothee Ledbetter, AFE Teacher Keresha Durham, Ark Independent Studies Teacher Jim Monreal, Asst. Supt. Kinsey Dickson, Executive Assistant for Business Services Stu Branoff, Bay View Teacher Tiffany Wise-West, City of Santa Cruz Climate Action Program Pauline Seales, City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction Leslie O'Malley, City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction Cayley Soon, City of Santa Cruz Waste Reduction Melissa Schilling, Harbor High Climate Justice Club Chris Soriano, Museum of Natural History Amy Hedrick-Farr, Santa Cruz City Schools Amity Sandage, Santa Cruz County Office of Education Trevor Miller, SCCS Facility Services Director Jeremy Shonick, SCCS Trustee Patricia Threet, SCCS Trustee John Owen, SCCS Trustee Christina Horvat, Santa Cruz County Mary Ann LoBalbo, Santa Cruz County Zeke Bean, Santa Cruz City Maryna Sedoryk, Santa Cruz City Thien Hua, Principal Derek Kendall, Principal Nicola Hall, Student Rep Tamarah Minami, Student Rep

Veronica Zahela, Librarian at Santa Cruz High School